On patience, hard work, and being an artist

The truth

I haven’t written anything not relating to my own music on the blog for a while so let’s get the bloggery blabbery mode on for a change.

I felt like writing down a few words relating to hard work, patience, and being an artist.
I suddenly felt an urge to write after giving some advice to aspiring producers as well as having some conversations with some budding artists in addition to some older music heads whose faith seems to get tested every now and then.
And, yes, my own faith does get tested occasionally, too, so maybe I can refer to this post the next time I feel that times are tough for me.

The questions that many artists seem to be face periodically are “Is it worth it?”
There’s also the “Will I make it?”
I’ve found myself asking myself those questions a few times, too.
Then there’s also the old classic “I’ve been making music for x–3 years, I’ve sent demos out and I still haven’t gotten any releases out, so should I quit?”

Let me tell you how I see this and throw in my 2c that comes from my own experience.

Continue reading On patience, hard work, and being an artist

Coffee Crazy EP

This EP is a “pay-what-you-want” type of release, which I haven’t done before, and I’m curious to find out how it’ll do.
I’m not saying it’s a “please-don’t-pay-me-anything” type of release, but you’re not obliged to pay anything: you’re free to download it, of course.
Also, as some people who downloaded the free albums said “I gladly would’ve paid you for these free albums” when I gave them out, now is your chance.
However, if you don’t find the EP good enough or if you’re a bit low on the cashmunny, hey, no blaming fingers will be pointed at anyone.
But share the music at least, please.

To get the EP, surf your funky web ship to Bandcamp.

Also, if you wish, grab a coffee-themed Lightless desktop picture pack by clicking here; it’s done by the ever-so-amazing Mark Tarnashinsky.

Radioshow archive (Jun 15, 2012)

Here’s the archive of D&B radioshow by Fanu & Docius on Bassoradio on June 15.
I was joined – permanently! – by DJ Docius, my long-time friend and partner in d&b crime.
Actually, we were part of the very OG Bassoradio crew back in 2006 when it started.
Our show was later on left out of the schedule when Bassoradio moved and their daily schedule didn’t run after 10 p.m., if I recall correctly, and our show was always at 10–12 p.m.
Feels good to reunite once again!


01. Blu Mar Ten – Futureproof
02. Skitty – Steelers
03. Skunk Anansie – Secretly (Optical remix)
04. Seba + Paradox – Time Starts Now
05. Stranjah – 40 Days
06. Resound + Loxy – Civil War
07. Klute – Acid Rain
08. Asylum – Da Bass II Dark
09. Lion of Judah – Emperor Selassie I
10. DJ Trax – Space Is The Place
11. Future Forces & Dj Kane – Morpheus
12. Defo – Moral
13. Klute – Saviour
14. Mineral – Spider (Naraka remix)
15. Bulletproof – Funkthief
16. Bad Company – Sentient
17. Verb + Devastate – The Killzone
18. Trace + Nico – Amtrak
19. John Rolodex – Box Of Snakes
20. D Bridge – Mourning Dawn
21. Social Engineer – Her Sense
22. Scape – Earthling
23. Jonny L – PBX
24. Ed Rush + Fierce – Locust
25. Freestyles – Musically Dope (Ganja Kru remix)
26. Stranjah – Fukk You
27. Nemesis & Dj Kane – System (Optical & Fierce remix)
28. Aphrodite – Bomber
29. Cool Hand Flex – Ya Buzzin
30. Kemal + Sinthetix – Ultraviolet
31. Multi Flex – Time Lapse
32. Todd Terry – Blackout
33. Trace & Nico – Squadron
34. Seba – Special Ops
35. Polar – High Voltage

Amon Tobin – “Journeyman” (Fanu remix)

Amon Tobin box set

Here it is: the Fanu remix of Amon Tobin’s “Journeyman”.
Released on the huge box set on Ninja Tune.

The Amon Tobin boxset is a strictly limited edition release and will come in the form of a beautiful high quality bolt fastened mechanical ‘press’.
Packed inside are 6 x 10″ vinyl, 7 x CD, 2 x DVD and several posters.
Most of the material is unreleased, almost none of it has ever been available on a physical format before.
It includes new music, unreleased dub plates and a wealth of archive material, Amon Tobin’s earliest audio experiments (never been played in public before), film and television score work, unreleased score work, deleted bootlegs, ISAM live show DVD, ISAM live audio album, remixes, cover versions and re-interpretations of the ISAM album, remixes Amon has produced for others, a recording of the (November 2010) Royal Albert Hall orchestrations of Amon Tobin and more…

Get the box set from the Ninja Shop.

Fanu / FatGyver – music | mastering | production